Friday, July 29: Accra

After crossing the border early yesterday morning from Lome into Aflao (a city on the Ghanaian side of the border), we quickly hired a car and sped straight for Korle Bu Teaching Hospital. We are lucky that most Ghanaian roads do not seem have speed limits!  It was quite a ride and we still got to the hospital about a 1/2 hour late, but everything worked out fine since everybody appeared to be running on “Ghanaian Time” anyway.  Once we arrived, we quickly composed ourselves and began to teach the workshop.  This seminar was a lot larger than the first one I taught at Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital.  There were just over 40 therapists representing 10 different hospitals and clinics in Southern Ghana. Some even travelled from as far as 3 or 4 hours away to attend the workshop! The reality is that there are not many opportunities to pursue further education in physiotherapy once you’ve graduated from the university program. Some therapists, who can afford it, will travel to other countries to do additional courses, but most will not have that privilege. They were very interested in what we had to teach them and very appreciative of the theraband that St. John’s Rehab provided for them.

With this workshop, I have finally completed my last day of healthcare-related work in Ghana. I told the executives of GAP that I hoped to return in one year’s time, and they were delighted and promised that I would teach workshops for “a few days” the next time I returned! I think there is a huge opportunity for Western-trained therapists to teach in Ghana. It is interesting to see how the profession is trying to expand and develop itself in Ghana, and it is exciting to imagine that maybe we can have a part in this as well.

There is a lot to think about, but right now I’m glad that we’ve finally finished our journey through Ghana. I knew coming in that these 6 weeks would be gruelling with all the travel, but I really started to miss home in the last 2 weeks here and I will be glad to not have to live out of a suitcase anymore. I fly back on Saturday evening and I’m really looking forward to coming back to St. John’s Rehabto see everyone again.  See you soon and I hope I can handle the heat in Toronto! =)

Here are some more photos from my journey!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Rebuilding Lives Around the World, Rebuilding Lives in Ghana and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday, July 29: Accra

  1. Kitty says:

    Hi Gary,
    Hope you (and your luggages) made it home safe and sound. You have accomplished a lot over the past 6 weeks. It must be tiring with all the work and the traveling and I really admire you and your wife for volunteering and making a difference in people’s lives. Thank you for sharing your journey with us!
    Kitty

Leave a Reply

